Goosebumps Party!

 

School Age

 

It feels like it’s been forever since I wrote up a good school-age program. This year, my local school systems only have six teacher workdays. Couple that with a lack of space in one of my branches, and I’m just not doing as many as I usually do. Finally we had a workday roll around, though, so I’m back to one of my passions this week with a school-age program on Goosebumps!

If you’re moving away from doing Halloween-specific programming, you might find that Goosebumps is a cheater’s road to avoiding a holiday program. Or, you know, just do it whenever you want like I did. It amazes me that this series has stood the test of time and it’s popular with so many ages. I have adults who check them out and love them! For this program, we only had a few in attendance but it attracted two 6th graders and one intrepid 3 year old.

Here goes the plan.

Item one: Mummy dance!

If we’d had more attendance, I would have started off by having everyone wrap themselves like a mummy in toilet paper and dancing to Monster Mash. Unfortunately, it’s just not that fun with three people. *shrug*

Item two: Spider on a straw relay

I still started off with this one, though it would have been way better with a few more people.

 

relaylines

One player ran to a chair at the end of the line, holding a straw in his mouth. My three year old assistant then added a plastic spider ring to his straw. He ran back to his teammate who also had a straw in her mouth and he slid the spider ring from his straw to hers without using his hands. After a couple times going back and forth, they decided it was too easy and he tried getting two spiders at a time. After taking turns, this ate up around 15 mins.

Item Three: Eye Socket Blow

Here players raced to blow their hollow, plastic eye into a cup taped to the end of the table. They used two paper towel rolls to direct the eye as they walked or ran around the table to keep it on track. They loved this game and probably played it the most.

eyesockets

eyesockets2

 

Item Four: Making Slime

I chose a glow in the dark slime recipe, found here, and walked the kids through making it. With the older kids, I had them read out the instructions and measure everything while I just directed. With our youngest attendee, I helped mom add ingredients while little one stirred.

slime table

 

I poured a little borax in a paper cup and put warm water in an insulated coffee pot on the table. Slime went home in snack-sized sandwich bags. Not surprisingly, it was the big draw to come to the program.

This is actually a pretty clean craft as long as it’s properly supervised and you have the ingredients in child-friendly containers. The slime isn’t very messy once you handle it a little.

Item Five: Feed the Blob

I used vanilla pudding with a little green food coloring to make a blobby mixture in a couple big bowls. (It actually looks a lot like boogers.) While the kids were making slime, I set the bowls on a pad (you could use a table cloth) in case it splashed out of the bowls. The kids stood back and tried throwing the eyes into the bowls. Incredibly, they all came up with a dozen ways to play this game. The older kids tried bouncing it between the lines from our relay or throwing it under a leg. Our littlest player tried a scattershot approach and threw a whole cup of eyes in the general direction of the bowls. She was surprisingly good.

eyesinsnot

 

Kids just had to wipe off the eyes before playing again so that they wouldn’t drip.

 

There it is! It’s really simple and something that you can do with low prep time, low budget, and minimal space. I think I spent about $30, but I had some items like food coloring, tableclothes, cups, and glue.

2 thoughts on “Goosebumps Party!

  1. Pingback: Book Character Parties: A Round Up - Jbrary

  2. As a kid I was obsessed with Goosebumps, so this would have been right up my alley! School-age programming can be tough, I also work in a teeny-tiny branch with no programming room, so you have to get extra-creative in your use of space sometimes! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

