Mom’s Night Out: Spa Party

I have a hard time planning adult programs that will actually draw adults. I understand this to be a common plight among small libraries, so I try not to be hard on myself when I have only a few people come or maybe even no one. I’ve been experimenting with partnerships like the one I have with my county’s young professional organization. This partnership is going really well, by the way, and I’m only now realizing I haven’t updated anyone on the topic.

I’ve also been intrigued by the idea of offering a program just for parents, no kids allowed. Miss Michelle at MPL wrote about her Mom’s Night Out and it was just the incentive I needed to try it out.

I planned a spa party for moms in January because, let’s be real, everyone needs help moisturizing in the winter. I planned to make bath bombs, a facial mask, and a sugar scrub.

I also made sure to get our PIO on board with advertising the program. She got the info out through every media source we have.

We had 12 people sign up and buying supplies for this many people cost me around $40. The trickiest ingredient was the citric acid I needed for the bath bombs, as it usually comes in small amounts and the recipe calls for a lot of it. I wound up ordering a few packs off Amazon.

On the night of, I setup three stations with the one for bath bombs being the longest. It took a lot of ingredients and if we had more than a few people at the station, they would need the space to pass the ingredients around.

bath bombs

I put a couple copies of instructions for mixing on each table because I thought the ladies might have more opportunity to chat if it was self-directed. I also made copies of each recipe for them to take home at the end of the night.

sugar scrubMy serving bowls, measuring options, and utensils were a little rag tag but I had just enough to make everything work. I had some plastic bags and some dressing containers as options for people to take their products home.

maskOnly three people actually came to the event, and who knows why. Maybe it was hard for moms to find babysitters or maybe they just forgot about it. The ladies that came had a good time. Their favorite was the sugar scrub, but we had a hard time getting our bath bombs to clump by following the directions. Instead, we sprayed in a little more water than the recipe called for and then had success. The mask was a little clumpy and we were all skeptical about putting something that contains honey on our face. Since then, though, I’ve used that mask and it’s been perfectly fine for my sensitive skin.

If I had to recommend any changes, I would say switch out the bath bombs for another activity. It was the most expensive and hardest to scale for a big group.

7 thoughts on “Mom’s Night Out: Spa Party

  1. YEAH!!! I’m so happy you did this. As a mom, it’s hard to find low-cost, high-interest fun that doesn’t involve kids. I’m sure the ladies had a fun time. I’m having a Pinterest craft party in April, so I’ll definitely let you know how that one goes. (Hopefully it won’t be one big Pinterest fail.) High five!

  2. That’s exactly what’s happening! My teens saw the supplies and wanted to make some for their friends, so we’re doing a crafts night for them to make gifts for Valentine’s Day.

  3. Use your leftover citric acid to make magic puffing snow – we’ve now done this twice and the kids are absolutely obsessed with it – needs a lot of baking soda though! (we don’t put any food coloring in)

  4. Aaa! I feel your pain. This past Saturday we had our first all-ages “Pinterest In Real Life” party. I was so excited when seven people signed up, and then only one came. ::teardrop::

    Maybe we’ll try this with some sort of variation of having some sort of spa-like treatment going on while they’re there…I’ll let you know if/when we do this! Thanks so much for sharing 🙂

    • Oo, having an actual professional do something with them is a great idea. I’ve thought about asking hair stylists to teach my teens different braiding techniques.

Leave a Reply

