H is for Hearts, Hippos, and Horses

The Idea:

H Books

Opening song/dance: Baby Shark by The Learning Station

Sing If You’re Ready For a Story (to the tune of If You’re Happy and You Know It).

Read: Hilda Must Be Dancing

Song/dance: Arms Up from cd, Arms Up Keep Moving by William Janiak

Play I Spy for H words on flannelboard

Read: Are You a Horse?

Play my version of Two Little Blackbirds (in which kiddos use whole body to act out the movements of each animal we choose).

Sing Head, Shoulders, Knees, and Toes slow and then super fast.

Read: Horses

Special Activity: Find the H-word that I’ve hidden in our picture book room for a prize.

The Reality:

Not only did I have a restless pack of four year-olds today, but a few were accompanied by younger siblings that had just sat through a thirty minute toddler storytime. It was a hard day for preschool attention spans already, but then I failed to notice how long Are You a Horse? really is. I also have to tell you that I find the Arms Up song to be just a little too mellow for my crowd. They bounce along dutifully but there’s no laughter or delight on their little faces. Since I have two preschool storytimes each week, I’ll be tweaking my plan for tomorrow.

The Future:

Opening song: Freeze Dance

Sing: If You’re Ready for a Story

Read: From Head to Toe (with acting out)

Head, Shoulders, Knees, and Toes

I Spy for H words

Dance: Baby Shark

Read: Are You a Horse? (with paperclipped pages)

Play: Two Little Blackbirds with animals from book

Read: Horses

Play: Little Mouse, Little Mouse

Special Activity

One thought on “H is for Hearts, Hippos, and Horses

  1. Pingback: Hack My Storytime: The Letter H | Storytime Underground

Leave a Reply

